# 2024 Marketing Trends Report

**A collaboration between Quill and Carney**


-----

**TA B L E O F C O N T E N T S**

3 **A Note From Quill & Carney**

4 **2023 in Review: Stats All Marketers Should Know**

5 **Challenges Marketers Face**

6 **Opportunities: 2024 Trends**

Hyper-Personalization

Brand Storytelling

Data-Driven Marketing

Zero-Click Content

AI in Marketing

15 Channels

Branded Podcasts

Video Marketing

Community Marketing: Newsletters

Event Marketing

Conversational Marketing

Social Media Marketing

Programmatic Advertising

Interactive Content

38 Conclusion: Selecting the Right Channels for Your Brand

43 About Quill & Carney


-----

**I N T R O D U C T I O N**

## A Note from Quill and Carney


As marketers, our success hinges

on our ability to predict and adapt

to the rapidly changing consumer

landscape. In a global culture still

recovering from the isolation of 2020,

brand-to-customer connection has

never been more critical.


Consumers want to develop long-term relationships
with brands that share their values, understand
them as individuals, and invite them to co-create
experiences.

It’s a lot to ask of marketers. Fortunately, we have
new tools and tactics to meet new expectations.

As we enter 2024, we know that investment in
content marketing is essential for any brand looking
to grow. Brands that address the individualized
needs and preferences of their audience will not
just succeed; they’ll lead the way in engaging and
retaining customers.

With marketing channels spanning from podcasts
and social media to newsletters and videos, we’re
confident our 2024 Marketing Trends Report
will guide you and your team when it comes to
marketing opportunities and channels to explore in
the next year.


-----

**2 0 2 3 I N R E V I E W**

## Stats All Marketers Should Know


**AI in Marketing**

[• 64% of businesses expect AI to increase](https://contentatscale.ai/blog/how-many-businesses-use-ai/#:~:text=64%25%20of%20companies%20believe%20AI,will%20help%20them%20save%20costs.)
[productivity.](https://contentatscale.ai/blog/how-many-businesses-use-ai/#:~:text=64%25%20of%20companies%20believe%20AI,will%20help%20them%20save%20costs.)

-  67% of users indicated they would be likely to

[use ChatGPT over traditional search engines.](https://www.forbes.com/advisor/business/artificial-intelligence-consumer-sentiment/)

[• In 2023, AI adoption increased by 250%.](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/artificial-intelligence-stats?__hstc=23243621.9d69e813fbd12dd6c0eaa2a2a182d0c0.1686673538049.1686673538049.1686673538049.1&__hssc=23243621.1.1686673538050&__hsfp=3673447727)

[• 88% of marketers believe AI adoption is critical](https://mailchimp.com/intuit-mailchimp-finds-vast-majority-of-smb-marketers-are-bought-into-ai/)
[to staying competitive and meeting customer](https://mailchimp.com/intuit-mailchimp-finds-vast-majority-of-smb-marketers-are-bought-into-ai/)
expectations.

[• With AI recommendations, Facebook saw a 15%](https://blog.hootsuite.com/facebook-statistics/)
[increase in Reels watch time.](https://blog.hootsuite.com/facebook-statistics/)

**Content Marketing**

-  [73% of marketers say content marketing is](https://www.searchenginejournal.com/content-marketing-statistics/475206/)
essential for their overall strategy.

[• Content marketing costs 62% less than](https://learn.g2.com/digital-marketing-statistics)
[traditional marketing but generates three times](https://learn.g2.com/digital-marketing-statistics)
as many leads.

[• The average cost of buying a link is $361.44,](https://ahrefs.com/blog/buy-backlinks/)
compared to $77.80 to publish a guest post.

[• Companies with blogs see 67% more leads per](https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/businesses-blog-get-67-more-sales-leads-media-relations-inc-/)
[month than those without.](https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/businesses-blog-get-67-more-sales-leads-media-relations-inc-/)

[• 54% of businesses will increase their content](https://www.siegemedia.com/strategy/content-marketing-statistics)
[marketing budgets this year.](https://www.siegemedia.com/strategy/content-marketing-statistics)

**Podcasts**

[• For the first time, Americans are listening to](https://podnews.net/directory/company/edison-research)
[more on-demand audio (like podcasts and](https://podnews.net/directory/company/edison-research)
music services) than live audio, like radio.

[• Podcast listeners are nearly as likely to listen to a](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/free-downloadables/the-podcast-landscape)
[branded podcast as they are to a celebrity show](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/free-downloadables/the-podcast-landscape)

[• Most podcast listeners are decision-makers at](https://app.thejuicehq.com/content/iDBYabKrzobM35zpqY5NXwNG)
their company.

[• Over 84% of brands think that video will be a](https://riverside.fm/reports/2023-annual-report)
[central part of their future podcast strategy.](https://riverside.fm/reports/2023-annual-report)


**Video**

[• By 2024, over 80% of the world’s internet traffic](https://blog.visitorqueue.com/52-marketing-stats-you-need-to-know/#:~:text=By%202024%20over%2080%25%20of,as%20a%20content%20marketing%20tool.)
will be video.

[• Product videos can increase sales by over 140%.](https://blog.visitorqueue.com/52-marketing-stats-you-need-to-know/#:~:text=By%202024%20over%2080%25%20of,as%20a%20content%20marketing%20tool.)

[• Over 80% of marketers use video as a content](https://blog.visitorqueue.com/52-marketing-stats-you-need-to-know/#:~:text=By%202024%20over%2080%25%20of,as%20a%20content%20marketing%20tool.)
marketing tool.

[• 85% of companies capture video for their](https://riverside.fm/reports/2023-annual-report)
[podcasts.](https://riverside.fm/reports/2023-annual-report)

**Social Media**

[• Over 93% of internet users are social media](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
users.

[• Worldwide, people spend an average of 2 hours](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
[and 28 minutes per day on social media.](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)

-  [Women aged 16 to 24 use social media the](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
most, spending an average of 3 hours and 10
minutes per day on social media.

[• The average social media user logs into 7](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
[different platforms each month.](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)

**Email Marketing**

[• 99% of users check their email every single day.](https://www.mailbutler.io/blog/email/email-statistics-trends/)

[• 90% of B2B marketers say email newsletters are](https://www.constantcontact.com/blog/email-marketing-research-and-statistics/)
[an essential source of success in their content](https://www.constantcontact.com/blog/email-marketing-research-and-statistics/)
marketing plan.

[• More than 75% of email ROI comes from](https://www.campaignmonitor.com/resources/knowledge-base/why-does-segmentation-matter-in-email-marketing/)
segmented email campaigns.

[• Mobile devices account for 2 out of 5 of opened](https://www.campaignmonitor.com/resources/guides/email-marketing-trends/)
[emails.](https://www.campaignmonitor.com/resources/guides/email-marketing-trends/)


-----

## Challenges  Marketers Face

**Proving ROI is Complicated**

Attributing conversions to specific marketing strategies
can be challenging, especially in multi-channel
[marketing. In fact, 40% of marketers say proving the ROI](https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics)
[of their marketing activities is their biggest challenge](https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics)
[and only 3 in 5 marketers believe their strategy is](https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics)
[effective, which leaves much to be desired in terms of](https://www.hubspot.com/marketing-statistics)
returns and overall impact.

**Audiences Are More Distracted Than Ever**

Since the early 2000s, our collective attention span has
been dwindling, and information overload is reaching
[record highs. We’re currently sitting at a 47-second](https://time.com/6302294/why-you-cant-focus-anymore-and-what-to-do-about-it/)
[attention span – which is down from 2.5 minutes.](https://time.com/6302294/why-you-cant-focus-anymore-and-what-to-do-about-it/)

**Lack of Resources for Media Production**

[According to recent surveys, a staggering 43% of](https://www.salesforce.com/blog/personalization-challenges/)
marketers express that the lack of in-house resources,
including filming and editing, poses a hurdle in
[leveraging video marketing. On top of that, 40% identify](https://thesocialshepherd.com/blog/video-marketing-statistics#:~:text=Online%20Videos%20Have%20an%20Audience,tutorial%20or%20how%2Dto%20videos.)
a lack of budget dedicated to video creation as their
primary barrier.

**AI is Forcing Marketers to Redefine**
**Authenticity**

As organizations gear up to increase their use of AI
[across various activities, including a 318% increase in](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
[customer support and a 260% surge in image editing](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
in 2024, it becomes evident that AI has become an
indispensable tool for businesses.

However, the challenge lies in the delicate balance
between the promises of efficiency and the risks
associated with audience acceptance. Despite the
[enthusiasm from marketers, a Hootsuite Social Media](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
[Consumer 2024 Survey reveals that 62% of consumers](https://www.hootsuite.com/research/social-trends)
are less likely to engage with and trust content if they
know it was created by an AI application.


-----

# Opportunities: 2024 Trends

Thanks to sophisticated data measurement and advances in marketing tools,
customer experience has never been more personalized, value-driven, and
frictionless. Brands have the ability not only to tell a story but to invite their
fans to participate in its creation.


-----

**O P P O R T U N I T I E S : 2 0 2 4 T R E N D S**

## Hyper-Personalization


Hyper-personalization refers to the advanced
customization of marketing messages, content,
and experiences to individual consumers based on
their unique characteristics, preferences, behaviors,
and interactions.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

of consumers are more likely to do
business with a company that offers
[personalized experiences.](https://www.epsilon.com/us/about-us/pressroom/new-epsilon-research-indicates-80-of-consumers-are-more-likely-to-make-a-purchase-when-brands-offer-personalized-experiences)

###### 80[%]


[of marketers have seen measurable](https://technology-signals.com/evergage-study-reveals-88-marketers-deploy-personalization-to-improve-customer-experiences/)
[improvements in their business from](https://technology-signals.com/evergage-study-reveals-88-marketers-deploy-personalization-to-improve-customer-experiences/)

###### 88[%] personalization.

###### 88[%]


of consumers said they are more
likely to shop with brands that provide

###### 91[%] relevant offers and recommendations.


It goes beyond traditional segmentation by
leveraging sophisticated data analysis and AI to
create highly targeted and relevant experiences for
each customer.

**Why? Because in 2024, the customer demands it.**

of consumers expect that companies
[will anticipate their needs and make](https://www.salesforce.com/blog/consumers-want-more-personalized-marketing/)

###### 51[%] relevant suggestions before they

make contact.

###### 51[%]


[of consumers are comfortable sharing](https://www.epsilon.com/us/about-us/pressroom/new-epsilon-research-indicates-80-of-consumers-are-more-likely-to-make-a-purchase-when-brands-offer-personalized-experiences)
[personal information with a brand if](https://www.epsilon.com/us/about-us/pressroom/new-epsilon-research-indicates-80-of-consumers-are-more-likely-to-make-a-purchase-when-brands-offer-personalized-experiences)
it leads to a personalized and easier
experience.

###### 80[%]


_“Consumers are ambivalent about the use of their_
_data in marketing, yet innately expect shopping_
_experiences as predictive and efficient as Amazon’s._
_The challenge lies in blending advanced technology_
_with human insight to create distinct, privacy-_
_conscious experiences. Brands that get this right will_
_not only improve performance but can also achieve_
_a deep-seated affinity akin to our trust for Amazon in_
_the United States.”_

**[—Basar Kutlu, Head of Brand Strategy at Carney](http://carney.co)**


###### 91[%]


-----

**H Y P E R - P E R S O N A L I Z AT I O N** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**Opportunities to Deliver a Hyper-**
**Personalized Customer Experience in 2024**



**• Dynamic Content: Tailor website content,**
emails, and other communication dynamically
based on individual user behavior and
preferences.

**• Email Campaigns: Customize email content,**
subject lines, and timing based on individual
behaviors, preferences, and engagement
patterns.

**• Personalized Offers and Discounts:** Provide
personalized discounts, promotions, and offers
based on customer behavior, purchase history,
and preferences.

**• Landing Pages: Personalize landing pages to**
match the interests and preferences of different
audience segments, directing them to content
or products most relevant to them.

**• Behavioral Triggers: Implement triggers**
based on user behavior, such as abandoned
cart reminders, re-engagement emails, or
personalized pop-ups.



**• Personalized Ads: Deliver targeted**
advertisements across various platforms based
on user behavior, interests, and demographic
information.

**• Geolocation Targeting: Use geolocation data to**
personalize content, offers, and promotions
based on the user’s location.

**• Personalized Video Content: Create**
personalized video content that speaks directly
to the viewer’s interests, preferences, or past
interactions.

**• AI-Driven Chatbots: Use AI-driven chatbots**
to provide personalized assistance,
recommendations, and support based on
individual queries and historical data.


-----

**O P P O R T U N I T I E S : 2 0 2 4 T R E N D S**

## Brand Storytelling


Brand storytelling involves crafting a compelling
narrative that communicates a brand’s essence,
values, and personality to its audience.

Depending on your channel, your brand’s story is
going to look a little different. Effective storytelling
in podcasting or video, for example, typically aligns
with the fundamentals of a captivating story:

-  A climax

-  Relatable characters

-  A compelling plotline

-  An engaging narrative arc

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

of consumers want brands to make

###### 92[%] ads that feel like a story.

###### 92[%]


of consumers are more likely to

###### 55[%] remember a story than a list of facts.

###### 55[%]


of consumers say that brand stories

###### 68[%] influence their purchasing decisions.


When done well, brand storytelling intimately
engages your audience, differentiating you from
the competition. Because when you connect
with customers on an emotional level, whether
that’s through humor, happiness, surprise, or even
sadness, it’s a powerful thing.

A 20% boost in customer loyalty
is observed in companies with
compelling brand stories.

###### 20[%]


of consumers make a purchase after

###### 64[%] watching a branded social media video

###### 64[%]


[Source: The Brand Shop](https://www.blog.thebrandshopbw.com/brand-storytelling-statistics-and-trends/)


###### 68[%]


-----

**B R A N D S T O R Y T E L L I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

_“As we move into 2024, it’s clear that connecting with_
_our audience is crucial. Consumers seek brands that_
_reflect their values and tell relatable stories. This year,_
_the key for marketers is to focus on storytelling in their_
_content strategies. Good stories stick with people,_
_and when these stories come from your brand, you_
_become memorable.”_

**- Alison Osborne, VP of Marketing at**
**[Quill Podcast Agency](https://www.quillpodcasting.com)**

**How to Implement Brand Storytelling into**
**Your Strategies in 2024**

**• Interactive Social Media Stories:** Use platforms
like Instagram, Facebook, or TikTok to engage
users with short, captivating narratives that
reflect the brand’s ethos.

**• Immersive Experiential Marketing: Create**
immersive experiences or events that allow
consumers to interact with the brand and
become part of its story.

**• Serialized Content: Develop serialized**
content—like branded podcasts, video series,
or blog posts—that tell a continuous, engaging
brand story over time.

**• Narrative-driven Advertising Campaigns:**
Create ad campaigns that go beyond product
features, focusing on emotive storytelling that
connects with audiences.

**• Founder/Leadership Stories: Share personal**
stories from the founders or leadership team to
humanize the brand.

**• Behind-the-Scenes Content: Offer glimpses**
behind the scenes to showcase the brand’s
culture, values, and the passionate team
behind it all.


-----

**O P P O R T U N I T I E S : 2 0 2 4 T R E N D S**

## Data-Driven Marketing


**Data-driven marketing revolves around harnessing**
consumer and performance data to steer marketing
decisions.

This approach starts with leveraging consumer
demographics and behaviors, enabling marketers
to target audiences across various touchpoints. This

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

of marketing executives believe
data-driven marketing is crucial to

###### 64[%] success in a hyper-competitive global

economy.

###### 64[%]


of consumers are more likely to choose
a brand that offers personalized

###### 77[%] experiences based on data.

###### 77[%]


of marketers believe data-driven
marketing improves the speed and

###### 67[%] accuracy of decisions.

###### 67[%]


of companies believe customer data
platforms (CDPs) are essential for
successful data-driven marketing.

###### 86[%]


A well-executed data-driven marketing
strategy can boost conversion rates by
up to 21%.

###### 21[%]


[Source: ZipDo](https://zipdo.co/statistics/data-driven-marketing/#:~:text=Data%2Ddriven%20marketing%20is%20predicted,personalized%20experiences%20based%20on%20data.)


precision—reaching the right audience, at the right
time, and in the right context—is the backbone of
modern marketing.

Data-driven marketing not only enhances efficiency
but also leads to higher returns, making it an
increasingly attractive approach moving into 2024.

**Data-Driven Marketing Strategies You Can**
**Leverage in 2024**

-  Targeting ads based on your past customers’
demographics

-  Using insights from paid search campaigns to
guide your SEO strategy

-  Creating personalized content from user data
(Think Spotify Wrapped)

-  Emailing customers about products they’ve left
in their online carts

-  Tailoring your branded podcast content to
listener preferences and consumption habits

_“If you asked me about my target audience, I’d_
_probably tell you about my last sales call. That’s_
_because of the “recency bias” and it’s a problem._
_It’s one of 1000 reasons why humans don’t see_
_things objectively… and why we need data to guide_
_our decisions.”_

**–Andy Crestodina, the Co-Founder and CMO**
**[at Orbit Media](https://www.orbitmedia.com/)**


-----

**O P P O R T U N I T I E S : 2 0 2 4 T R E N D S**

## Zero-Click Content


The concept of zero-click content originates in
SEO, referring to the featured snippets, knowledge
graphs, and rich results directly displayed on the
search engine results page (SERP).

This information satisfies users’ queries without
requiring further click-throughs to external
[websites—resulting in over half of searches](https://searchengineland.com/zero-click-google-searches-rose-to-nearly-65-in-2020-347115#:~:text=Between%20January%20and%20December%202020,Rand%20Fishkin%2C%20founder%20of%20SparkToro.&text=On%20desktop%2C%2046.5%25%20of%20searches,to%2077.2%25%20on%20mobile%20devices.)
[ending without a single click. Zero-click content](https://searchengineland.com/zero-click-google-searches-rose-to-nearly-65-in-2020-347115#:~:text=Between%20January%20and%20December%202020,Rand%20Fishkin%2C%20founder%20of%20SparkToro.&text=On%20desktop%2C%2046.5%25%20of%20searches,to%2077.2%25%20on%20mobile%20devices.)

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

Posts without links receive:

###### 6x more reach

###### 6x

 4x more reactions

###### 4x

 18x more comments

###### 18x


[Source: Hootsuite](https://blog.hootsuite.com/linkedin-engagement-experiment/)


has become an essential pillar for social media
engagement as algorithms increasingly discourage
external links to keep users cycling through the
platform.

By providing no-strings-attached value to social
media followers, brands have the opportunity to
build trust, boost brand sentiment, and earn more
interactions and reach.

**Zero-Click Content to Try in 2024:**

**• Carousel: 5–10 slides that offer the key**
takeaways from your blog or podcast with data,
insights, and sources.

**• Short-form Video: Provide full instructions**
for a recipe, product use case, or strategy in 2
minutes.

**• Thread: Breaks down a story, case study, or**
piece of thought leadership in its entirety.

_“But it’s important to remember the value of what_
_you can’t measure. By providing consistent and_
_accessible value, you establish authority, build_
_trust, and nurture relationships with a growing_
_follower base.”_

**[–Rich O’Donnell, Creative Director at Carney](http://carney.co)**


-----

**O P P O R T U N I T I E S : 2 0 2 4 T R E N D S**

## AI in Marketing


[There is no overstating the significance of 2023’s AI](https://venturebeat.com/ai/after-ais-summer-whats-next-for-artificial-intelligence/)
[summer and the extent to which it has reshaped our](https://venturebeat.com/ai/after-ais-summer-whats-next-for-artificial-intelligence/)
industry in ways we are still discovering.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

of U.S. adults are interested in
[AI-powered search.](https://www.statista.com/statistics/1377783/us-adults-interest-in-artificial-intelligence-related-products/)

###### 49[%]


of marketers reported using

###### 73[%] generative AI tools for work.

###### 73[%]


of marketers use generative
[AI to draft content](https://www.statista.com/statistics/1404764/gen-ai-uses-marketing-advertising/)

###### 50[%]


of marketers use generative AI

###### 49[%] for brainstorming.

###### 49[%]


of marketers used generative AI
[for research.](https://www.statista.com/statistics/1404764/gen-ai-uses-marketing-advertising/)

##### ⅓


of marketers used generative
[AI for ad personalization.](https://www.statista.com/statistics/1404764/gen-ai-uses-marketing-advertising/)


Today, marketers are using generative AI in every
facet of their workflow, from creative and strategy to
production and measurement.

**How to Leverage AI in 2024**

**CONTENT**

GenAI’s ability to process complex prompts and
contexts to quickly materialize polished content
has allowed marketers to scale content production,
regardless of resources and time.

**Test these content types in 2024:**

-  Preliminary content like outlines, brainstorms,
and note organization

-  Text-based content like articles, blogs, product
descriptions, and scripts

-  Email campaigns, including subject lines, body
copy, and CTAs

-  Social media captions and hashtags

-  Summaries, guides, tutorials

-  Code snippets and Excel formulas

-  Photo, video, and voice content generated and/
or edited by AI

-  Analytics reports, research insights

**SEO**

AI is a powerful ally for SEO because of its capacity
to analyze data, produce content aligned with
user intent, forecast trends, and automate timeconsuming tasks.

**Test combining SEO and AI to:**

-  Optimize internal linking structures based on
customer buying journeys and search behaviors,
enhancing user experience and driving
engagement and conversions.

-  Assist in content gap analysis, predictive content
planning, and aligning content with seasonal
occurrences, ensuring that content remains
relevant and timely.


###### 13[%]


-----

**A I I N M A R K E T I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

-  Analyze data to identify audience segments,
predict high-value keywords, collect user
feedback, and discover opportunities for rich
snippets.

-  Identify emerging trends by aggregating and
summarizing recent news articles, blog posts,
and relevant data on a given topic, offering
insights before the competition.

-  Automate repetitive SEO tasks, such as data
exports and analysis, using tools like Google

-  Sheets and ChatGPT for enhanced efficiency.

-  Interpret feedback, extract emotional triggers,
and understand user preferences, aiding in the
creation of more relevant and engaging content.

-  Transform SEO data into compelling narratives
for stakeholder presentations, strategy pitches,
and check-ins, improving communication and
understanding of performance.


**MEASUREMENT & TARGETING**

Generative AI is revolutionizing the speed at which
we can extract insights from vast amounts of data.
AI algorithms have the capacity to:

-  Analyze social media conversations to gauge
public sentiment, helping businesses adapt their
marketing strategies in response to trends.

-  Process large datasets to uncover insights and
trends, allowing marketers to make data-driven
decisions and refine their strategies.

-  Predict future trends, customer behaviors, and
market dynamics, helping marketers anticipate
and proactively respond to changes.

_“In polling newsletter subscribers and webinar_
_attendees, we found that most marketers are_
_concerned about losing work to generative_
_AI. But, at least for now, it’s clear that your_
_willingness to become a subject matter expert,_
_having tested and applied these tools to amplify_
_human creativity and not usurp it, makes you an_
_invaluable asset to your team.”_

**- Shannon Sankey, Digital Marketing Strategy**
**[at Carney](http://carney.co)**


-----

# Channels Marketers Should Explore in 2024

Now that you have a good understanding of the trends that we predict will
define 2024, let’s dive into the channels we believe all content marketers should
have on their radars this year.


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

## Branded Podcasts


Podcasts have solidified their place amongst other
rich media. To put this into perspective, in 2014 only
[30% of Americans had listened to a podcast. Now](https://www.pewresearch.org/journalism/fact-sheet/audio-and-podcasting/)
that number has more than doubled to 64%.

Needless to say, podcasting has grown a lot
– and fast.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

**Podcasts lift key brand metrics, including:**

lift in brand awareness

###### 89[%]


lift in brand consideration

###### 57[%]


lift in brand favorability

###### 24[%]


lift in purchase intent

###### 14[%]


[Source: BBC](https://blog.hootsuite.com/linkedin-engagement-experiment/)


That brings us to branded podcasts: a podcast
series owned or brought to listeners by a company
[to benefit the brand. In a study by the BBC, they](https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/worldnews/2019/audio-activated)
uncovered that podcasts that mention the brand
deliver on average 16% higher engagement
compared to surrounding content.

of marketers plan to continue the same
amount or increase their investment in
podcasts and other audio content

###### 82[%]


$ Podcast revenue is forecasted to
###### 4B reach $4 billion in 2024

$
###### 4B


of listeners have made a purchase
[based on a podcast ad – that’s a 5%](https://www.modernretail.co/marketing/modern-retail-research-the-current-state-of-podcast-ad-spending-and-strategies/)
[increase from last year](https://www.modernretail.co/marketing/modern-retail-research-the-current-state-of-podcast-ad-spending-and-strategies/)

###### 60[%]


For the first time, Americans are
listening to more on-demand audio
(like podcasts and music services)
than live audio (like radio)

[Source: Edison Resarch](https://podnews.net/directory/company/edison-research)


-----

**B R A N D E D P O D C A S T S** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**Podcast Best Practices**


**AI IN AUDIO**

AI is making significant strides in transforming the
audio landscape with AI-driven podcasting reaching
[45 million Americans each month and AI-powered](https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/ai-podcasting-transforming-content-creation-listener-experiences/)
[podcasts have experienced a staggering 500%](https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/ai-podcasting-transforming-content-creation-listener-experiences/)
[growth in the past year.](https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/ai-podcasting-transforming-content-creation-listener-experiences/)

Here are a few ways podcast marketers are
leveraging AI in 2024:

**• Content Repurposing: AI tools can help you**
convert your podcast into blog articles, reports,
social media posts, audiograms, graphics, and
more in minutes.

**• Transcriptions: Tools like CoHost offer a simple,**

[automatic transcription feature that uses AI](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/feature/transcriptions)
to convert podcast audio into written text,
effectively and efficiently.

**• Personalized CTAs (Calls to Action): With**
analytics, you can determine the most suitable
CTA for each listener and use AI to personalize
CTAs.

**• Dynamic Ad-Insertion (DAI): Algorithms take**
into account various factors to select the most
fitting ads for the viewer’s interests, improving
the overall viewer experience.

**• Content Recommendation: By understanding**
which episodes resonate most with individual
users, AI can curate custom playlists that keep
them coming back for more.

**OMNICHANNEL MARKETING WITH PODCASTS**

Your podcast shouldn’t exist in a silo, it should be
integrated into your wider marketing strategy.

To maximize the potential of your podcast,
marketers need to focus on sharing the podcast not
just within audio platforms, but across marketing
channels such as blog posts, newsletters, videos,
audiograms, reels, webinars, reports, and more.
By transforming podcast episodes into alternative
formats, you expand reach, tap into a wider
audience, and increase touchpoints.


**DEFINING YOUR IDEAL LISTENER PROFILE**

Similar to developing a customer persona, an
ideal listener profile identifies the demographic
and psychographic behaviors of your potential
audience. You want to paint a clear picture of who
your listeners are so you can create content that’s
relevant and valuable.

**Key Components of an Ideal Listener Profile:**



-  Age

-  Fears

-  Budget

-  Gender

-  Hobbies

-  Lifestyle

-  Location

-  Interests

-  Education



-  Pain points

-  Social causes

-  Socioeconomic
status

-  Industry and
occupation

-  Total market size
(How many potential
customers fit your
profile.)


_“If you think of podcasting as just an audio_
_experience, you’re missing out on the full capacity_
_for a brand, especially when you leverage AI. AI_
_is the biggest unlock for the amazing content_
_covered in long-format conversations, such_
_as podcasts, webinars, videos, and more, to_
_generate a flywheel of evergreen content.”_

**–Greg Wasserman, Head of Partnerships &**
**[Growth at Castmagic](https://www.castmagic.io/)**


-----

**B R A N D E D P O D C A S T S** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**


**Why Your Brand Should Consider**
**Podcasting in 2024**

**Showcase your Brand’s Story: By sharing stories,**
insights, and values through audio content, brands
can create a distinct voice that resonates with their
audience.

**Highlight Your Expertise: Through engaging**
and informative podcast content, companies
can position themselves as industry experts and
thought leaders.

**Leverage Partnerships and Collaborations:**
Branded podcasts offer opportunities for
collaborations and partnerships with influencers,
industry experts, or brands.

**Increase Conversions: Podcasting holds a**
[conversion rate of 34% compared to print (2.4%) and](https://podnews.net/article/podcast-marketing-a-must)
[TV (3.1%). Plus, podcast interview traffic converts 25x](https://podcasthawk.com/from-listeners-to-clients-growing-your-business-through-podcast-interviews/#:~:text=Average%20Conversion%20Rates,-When%20it%20comes&text=what%20to%20expect%3A-,The%20average%20podcast%20conversion%20for%20site%20visitors%20decreased%20in%20Q1,converts%2025x%20better%20than%20blogs.)
[better than blogs.](https://podcasthawk.com/from-listeners-to-clients-growing-your-business-through-podcast-interviews/#:~:text=Average%20Conversion%20Rates,-When%20it%20comes&text=what%20to%20expect%3A-,The%20average%20podcast%20conversion%20for%20site%20visitors%20decreased%20in%20Q1,converts%2025x%20better%20than%20blogs.)

**Connect With Your Target Audience: Podcasts are**
both a convenient and intimate medium, captivating
[devoted listeners for up to 42 minutes on average.](https://riverside.fm/blog/how-long-should-a-podcast-be#:~:text=what%20these%20are.-,What%20is%20the%20average%20length%20of%20a%20podcast%3F,minutes%20to%2042%20minutes%20long.)


**How Branded Podcasts Can Fit Into Your**
**Brand’s Goals**

**Brand Awareness: To build brand awareness,**
consistency is key. Regularly releasing new
episodes, engaging with listeners through
feedback, and actively promoting the podcast
across channels are essential for sustaining interest
and growing audiences.

**Lead Generation: By leveraging the popularity and**
intimacy of this medium, sales teams can enhance
their sales strategies and drive meaningful results.
If there’s a specific lead that you’ve had your eye
on whether it be an individual or brand, invite them
onto your podcast as a guest.

**Thought Leadership: A podcast can establish**
thought leadership by providing unique
perspectives, sharing research or data-driven
insights, providing expert commentary on current
events, and bringing fellow leaders within the
industry onto the show.

**Internal Communication: By regularly sharing**
updates through podcasts, organizations can ensure
that employees are always in the know, fostering a
[sense of inclusion that can bridge the information](https://pumble.com/learn/communication/communication-statistics/)
[gap faced by 74% of employees. By providing a](https://pumble.com/learn/communication/communication-statistics/)
platform for employees to share their experiences,
expertise, and insights, branded podcasts help
build trust, connection, and engagement at all
organizational levels.


-----

**B R A N D E D P O D C A S T S** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**How to Optimize Your Branded**
**Podcast for 2024**

**DON’T RELY SOLELY ON VANITY METRICS**

Vanity metrics like downloads and subscribers lack
depth; they fall short when it comes to revealing
crucial aspects like audience engagement,
retention, or loyalty. While high download numbers
might catch attention, they don’t indicate whether
listeners are genuinely engaged or if they continue
to follow your content. Instead, look at podcast
[metrics like average consumption rates, audience](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/feature/advanced-audience-demographics)
[demographics, and B2B Analytics.](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/feature/advanced-audience-demographics)

**TRACK UNIQUE LISTENERS, NOT JUST**
**DOWNLOADS**

Downloads represent the total count of plays
lasting at least 60 seconds—every instance a
listener engages with your content, regardless of
whether it’s a first-time experience or a repeat play.
Conversely, unique listeners offer a distinct count
of individual audience members tuning in to your
show. If a listener revisits your podcast multiple
times, it registers as a single uniquelistener, making
this metric a much more accurate representation of
your listenership.

**FOCUS ON PROVIDING VALUE TO CUSTOMERS**

Even though branded podcasts are inherently tied
to your brand, listeners don’t tune in for a 30 minute
sales pitch. Instead of focusing on promoting your
brand, hone in on providing value to your target
audience by addressing their needs, catering to
their preferences, and leaving them with something
more — wether that’s education, food-for-thought,
or entertainment.


**BRAND STORY: BRANDED**
**PODCAST EXAMPLE**

**[EXPEDIA GROUP’S POWERING TRAVEL](https://www.quillpodcasting.com/client-podcasts/powering-travel)**

_Powering Travel welcomes hospitality_
industry leaders to share how they’re
building, innovating, and evolving their
travel businesses for the future. Hosted
by Brandon Ehrhardt, Senior Director
of Partner Program, and Sally Smith,
Senior Director of Market Management
at Expedia Group, they’ll explore the
latest trends, reveal best-kept hospitality
secrets, and try to predict where the
industry is headed next.

**Impact: Through Powering Travel,**
Expedia Group provides transparency
into how decisions are made and what
they are doing to make sure travel is as
easy, safe, and pain-free as possible. This
not only humanizes the brand but also
boosts trust and transparency and builds
brand personality.


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

## Video Marketing


Video has become a powerful medium, reshaping
the dynamics of social media, search engines, and
shopping behaviors. So it’s no surprise that video
[dominates online consumption with over 80% of](https://www.demandsage.com/video-marketing-statistics/#:~:text=Video%20accounts%20for%2082.5%25%20of%20global%20internet%20traffic.)
global internet traffic.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

[of companies are already using](https://assets-global.website-files.com/5f996b22b00afe35a55e6f79/63b2a067224d1f58d738c0a5_Future%20of%20Video%20Podcasting%20for%20Brands%202023_Riverside.pdf)
###### 85[%] video for podcasts

###### 85[%]


[of video marketers are satisfied with](https://thesocialshepherd.com/blog/video-marketing-statistics#:~:text=Online%20Videos%20Have%20an%20Audience,tutorial%20or%20how%2Dto%20videos.)
###### 92[%] the ROI on their video marketing

###### 92[%]


of video marketers say they’ve used
[AI tools to help them create or edit](https://www.wyzowl.com/video-marketing-statistics/#:~:text=%F0%9F%94%9C%2068%25%20of%20of%20marketers,start%20using%20video%20in%202024.)
marketing videos.

###### 75[%]


of consumers say they pay the most
[attention to short-form videos on social](https://sproutsocial.com/insights/social-media-marketing-strategy/)
###### 66[%] media — that’s 2.5 times more than
long-form videos

###### 66[%]


Website and social media
platforms are the preferred
marketing channels for video
distribution

[Source: Lemon Light](https://www.lemonlight.com/blog/67-video-marketing-stats-you-need-to-know/)


With billions of online video viewers dedicating
[an average of 17 hours weekly to video content,](https://startupsmagazine.co.uk/article-people-average-watch-17-hours-online-video-content-week)
it has become the go-to choice for information,
entertainment, and brand engagement – and
[brands are picking up on that with 68% of marketers](https://www.wyzowl.com/video-marketing-statistics/#:~:text=%F0%9F%94%9C%2068%25%20of%20of%20marketers,start%20using%20video%20in%202024.)
who don’t use video say they plan to start using
it in 2024.

**Why Video Marketing Performs**

**•** **Versatile Distribution: By promoting videos**
on platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and
LinkedIn, you amplify your brand’s visibility and
reach. Video ads are effective in driving attention
[and conversions with 53% of consumers saying](https://www.brightcove.com/en/company/press/new-research-brightcove-finds-video-content-impacts-product-and-service-purchases-particularly-/)
they’re more likely to engage with a brand after
viewing a video.

**•** **Enhance SEO: Through video platforms like**
YouTube, your content is more likely to be
discovered by new viewers. In fact, a website
[is 53 times more likely to reach the first page](https://www.insivia.com/2023-saas-marketing-report/)
results if it includes video.

**•** **Viral Potential: Videos have the potential to**
go viral and tap into a global audience. When
users share your videos with their networks,
they become brand advocates, organically
expanding your reach far beyond your initial
target audience.

**•** **Increased Engagement: Social video generates**
[1200% more shares than text and image content](https://www.g2.com/articles/video-marketing-statistics)
combined. Assuming you’re putting out video
content that informs, educates, and resonates,
your brand can tap into an attentive audience.

**•** **Prolonged Shelf Life: Video content has a**
lasting effect, remaining in users’ feeds for
extended periods. TikTok videos, for instance,
can resurface on For You Pages weeks or even
months after their initial publication, thanks to
prolonged interactions and shares.


-----

**V I D E O M A R K E T I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**How to Make The Most of Your Video**
**Marketing in 2024**

**•** **Don’t Underestimate the Power of YouTube:**
YouTube is the second most popular search
[engine globally, currently boasting 2.1 billion](https://www.hubspot.com/youtube-marketing)
[logged-in users, making it a great platform for](https://www.hubspot.com/youtube-marketing)
brands to leverage – and marketers agree with
[90% of them naming YouTube as the world’s](https://www.wyzowl.com/video-marketing-statistics/#:~:text=%F0%9F%94%9C%2068%25%20of%20of%20marketers,start%20using%20video%20in%202024.)
number one video site.

**•** **Share Video Clips on Social Media For**
**Increased Engagement: Apart from YouTube,**
[Facebook (86%) was the second most-](https://www.wyzowl.com/video-marketing-statistics/#:~:text=%F0%9F%94%9C%2068%25%20of%20of%20marketers,start%20using%20video%20in%202024.)
used video marketing platform followed by
Instagram (79%) and LinkedIn (76%). Brands
that embrace this trend with concise, impactful
content will stand out in the crowded digital
space.

**•** **Leverage Social Media’s Video-Centric**
**Capabilities: Social media platforms**
actively boost new video features, like
Instagram Reels, Facebook Livestreams, and
Instagram Stories, that prove to help brands
increase performance. For example, Tweets
[accompanied by videos experience 10x more](https://www.bazaarvoice.com/blog/twitter-marketing-strategy-how-to-engage-with-x/#:~:text=There%27s%20two%20billion%20video%20views,building%20their%20Twitter%20X%20voice.)
engagement than those without.

**•** **Cater Videos to The Platform and Your**
**Audience: While it is commonly considered**
a best practice to keep your videos concise
to cater to consumers’ short attention spans,
the most important thing to keep in mind
when it comes to video length is to cater to
the platform and your target audience. For
[example, brands like Patagonia who release](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzG6kiMXO98)
20+ minute long videos on YouTube with
hundreds of thousands of views, prove that
catering to your audience and the platform
comes first.


**BRAND STORY: EXAMPLES OF**
**VIDEO IN BRAND MARKETING**

**GOPRO**

GoPro, the leading brand in action
cameras, crafted a highly successful
video marketing strategy that centers on
[the clever utilization of user-generated](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Baur2Ypgd60)
[content (UGC). The brand actively](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Baur2Ypgd60)
encourages its customers to share the
footage they capture with their cameras.

This deliberate choice not only resonates
with GoPro’s target audience but also
enables prospective customers to
envision themselves using the product.
Plus, the content itself serves as a
testament to the camera’s superior
quality and ease of use, reinforcing two
critical sellingpoints for the brand.


-----

**V I D E O M A R K E T I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**Types of Videos to Add To Your 2024**
**Marketing Mix**

**VIDEO PODCASTS**

[Video podcasts have grown by over 25% in this](https://backlinko.com/podcast-stats)
past year alone. In fact, YouTube’s video podcasts
[are twice as likely to be shared compared to other](https://www.wyzowl.com/sovm-results-2019/)
[formats. The recent launch of a YouTube podcast](https://www.youtube.com/podcasts)
[page indicates the platform’s increasing dedication](https://www.youtube.com/podcasts)
to podcasters. This move isn’t one-sided either
[with listeners ranking YouTube as their preferred](https://www.forbes.com/sites/johanmoreno/2022/05/27/youtube-is-the-top-preferred-platform-for-podcasts/?sh=175c14da697a)
[listening platform.](https://www.forbes.com/sites/johanmoreno/2022/05/27/youtube-is-the-top-preferred-platform-for-podcasts/?sh=175c14da697a)

These preferences have actually skewed the app’s
overall consumption habits. In 2005, YouTube
videos averaged around 2 minutes in length. Now,
[YouTube videos are above 15 minutes long on](https://assets-global.website-files.com/5f996b22b00afe35a55e6f79/63b2a067224d1f58d738c0a5_Future%20of%20Video%20Podcasting%20for%20Brands%202023_Riverside.pdf)
average.


**SHORT-FORM CONTENT**

Recent surveys underscore the impact of short-form
[videos on consumer behavior; a staggering 56% of](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/marketing-trends)
U.S. consumers reported making purchases based
[on TikTok ads and 36% expressed a willingness to](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/marketing-trends)
do so. Marketers have noticed this potential with
[38% maintaining or increasing their investment in](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/marketing-trends)
short-form content in 2024.

A notable advantage shared by TikTok, Reels, and
Shorts is the ease of repurposing content across
all channels. Brands can streamline their efforts by
creating content that resonates with users on all
platforms.

**Pro Tip:** When cross-posting from TikTok, make sure
to remove the TikTok watermark.

_“For any brand that has a podcast, video can no_
_longer be ignored. Video compliments your audio_
_for increased reach, engagement, and impact._
_We’re seeing brands increasingly leverage video via_
_full podcast episodes, teasers, behind-the-scenes_
_snippets, episode recaps, and so much more.”_

**- Fatima Zaidi, CEO & Founder of**
**[Quill Podcast Agency](https://www.quillpodcasting.com)**


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

## Community Marketing: Newsletters


It’s not just about building and nurturing a 1:1
relationship with your customers. It’s about building
and nurturing a community of fans and customers
united by common interests and values that are
congruent with your brand’s products and services.
It’s an appeal to one of our most fundamental needs
as humans: belonging.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

Brands get back an average of
[$36 for every $1 spent on email](https://www.litmus.com/resources/email-marketing-roi)
marketing

###### $36


of B2B marketers use email
[newsletters as their main form](https://contentmarketinginstitute.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/2020_B2B_Research_Final.pdf)
[of content](https://contentmarketinginstitute.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/2020_B2B_Research_Final.pdf)


An established brand community has the potential
to draw in prospects, reinforce and deepen brand
loyalty, create collaborative opportunities, and build
excitement for new products and services.

**Why Newsletter Marketing Works**

Compared to traditional advertising methods,
newsletters are affordable to produce with a high
return. Newsletters are a powerful tool for driving
traffic to your website, blog, landing pages, and
other calls to action.

When you consistently share valuable information
and resources without action required from readers,
they are more likely to consider you a credible
source and keep you in mind over competitors
when they are ready to make a purchase.

**Standing Out in The Inbox**


###### 81[%]


The number of email users is expected

With the end of cookies in 2024 and ss artificial

###### 4.6B to increase to 4.6 billion by 2025

intelligence continues to revolutionize content
production, more brands will have the access and

###### 4.6B

resources to create personalized, automated email
campaigns, making the landscape all the more

of brands say that email marketing is crowded. To better understand your audience, poll
###### 87[%] very critical to business success and survey users to collect identifying information,

job titles, industries, preference data, and feedback.
This will provide you with valuable zero-party data—

###### 87[%]

or data given freely by a user—that builds an even
more accurate profile of your subscribers than third[of brands are increasing their](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/hubspot-blog-marketing-industry-trends-report?hubs_content=blog.hubspot.com%2Fmarketing%2Femail-marketing-stats&hubs_content-cta=HubSpot%20Blog%20Research)
party cookies.
###### 38[%] email budget


###### 38[%]


-----

**N E W S L E T T E R S** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**Newsletter Marketing Metrics to Know**

**•** **Open Rate: The percentage of recipients**
who opened your email. Today, changes
in privacy regulations and spam detection
technology have inflated this number, making
it hard to measure your performance against
competitors. It’s still useful to track your own
trends.

**•** **Click-Through Rate (CTR): The percentage**
of recipients who clicked on one or more
links in your email. This number is critical to
gauging the clarity, value, and resonance of
your content and calls to action. Across all
industries, 3% or higher is a good benchmark.

**•** **Conversion Rate: The percentage of email**
recipients who completed the desired action.

**•** **Bounce Rate: The percentage of emails that**
were not delivered successfully. Bounces can
be categorized as “soft” (temporary issues) or
“hard” (permanent issues).

**•** **Unsubscribe Rate: The percentage of**
recipients who opted out of receiving
future emails. To be widely compliant,
your newsletter should enable a one-click
unsubscribe option.

**•** **List Growth Rate: The rate at which your**
email subscriber list is growing. Aim for 2.5% or
higher.

**•** **Spam Complaint Rate: The percentage of**
recipients who marked your email as spam
Beginning in February 2024, Google will
enforce a spam rate threshold to improve
overall email hygiene.


**BRAND STORY: EXAMPLES OF**
**NEWSLETTERS IN COMMUNITY**
**MARKETING**

**THE DAILY CARNAGE**

[In 2017, Carney created The Daily](http://carney.co)
[Carnage, a marketing newsletter that](https://carney.co/daily-carnage/)
shares fresh industry tactics, tools, news,
and culture.

To future-proof growth, Carney launched
a comprehensive audience survey, which
achieved:

-  42% subscriber profile completion.

-  30% cross-channel subscriptions
between the newsletter and the
associated Facebook community.

-  List segmentation for SQLs and
advanced targeting profiles
for acquisition and retargeting
campaigns.

-  Collection of user preferences to
inform rebranding colors, typography,
messaging, tone of voice, etc

-  Sponsorship opportunities informed
by market research initiatives across
our community.

With this data, Carney launched a series
of informed content initiatives that led
to a 60% increase in engagement scores
within 90 days and improved average
open rates from 25% to 32%, and average
click-through rates from 6% to 8.7%.


-----

**N E W S L E T T E R S** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**How to Get Started With Community**
**Marketing in 2024**

**•** **Define the purpose of your newsletter. What**
will it achieve for your brand? What value will
you share with your audience? How will you
measure success?

**•** **Identify your target audience. Content should**
keep them informed or entertained, engage
their interests, address their pain points, or
provide solutions to their problems.

**•** **Select an email marketing platform. Tools**
[like MailChimp and Constant Contact offer](https://mailchimp.com/)
template customization, contact management,
and data insights that will help you get started.

**•** **Build your list. Invite business contacts to**
subscribe, activate an opt-in form on your
website, and run organic and paid social
campaigns.

**•** **Optimize your template. Your newsletter**
should be branded with your logo, colors, and
fonts. It should have a recognizable look and
feel, and information should be organized
according to the attention hierarchy.



**•** **Get writing. Develop a tone and voice that**
aligns with your brand and connects with
subscribers. People read on when headlines
are engaging, value is communicated early, and
information is organized in skimmable formats.

**•** **Set a schedule. Whether you’re sending a daily,**
weekly, monthly, or quarterly newsletter, people
integrate your content into their lives. Honor that
commitment to build anticipation and reinforce
trust.

**•** **Tighten those CTAs. Let people know where to**
click and why.

**•** **Love your data. Track key metrics and keep**
an eye on industry standards as rules and
regulations wax and wane.

**•** **Keep your list clean. Descale your list of**
bots to keep your data accurate, and run reengagement campaigns.

**•** **Consider revenue opportunities. Your niche**
community is valuable to other brands, too.
Who can you partner with for sponsorships or
collaboration?

_“It was essential to future-proof our newsletter growth_
_by deepening our connection with our audience,_
_enabling us to launch highly targeted media_
_initiatives.”_

**[—Rob Carney, CEO and Founder of Carney](http://carney.co)**


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

## Event Marketing

Conferences, trade shows, seminars, product launches, webinars, and other
forms of in-person and virtual event marketing serve to promote brands,
products, and services by facilitating opportunities for direct audience
engagement and community building.


**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

[of marketers feel that in-person](https://welcome.bizzabo.com/hubfs/%5BReport%5D%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Trends/2020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report%20-%20Benchmarks%20and%20Trends.pdf?utm_campaign=Q4%2F19%3A%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report&utm_source=hs_automation&utm_mediu)
[events can have a major impact on](https://welcome.bizzabo.com/hubfs/%5BReport%5D%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Trends/2020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report%20-%20Benchmarks%20and%20Trends.pdf?utm_campaign=Q4%2F19%3A%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report&utm_source=hs_automation&utm_mediu)
achieving primary business goals

###### 95[%]


of marketers plan to organize more
###### 63[%] experiential events

###### 63[%]


of event marketers reported hosting
###### 64[%] events to promote brand awareness

###### 64[%]


[of marketers found that email](https://welcome.bizzabo.com/hubfs/%5BReport%5D%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Trends/2020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report%20-%20Benchmarks%20and%20Trends.pdf?utm_campaign=Q4%2F19%3A%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report&utm_source=hs_automation&utm_mediu)
[marketing tools were the greatest](https://welcome.bizzabo.com/hubfs/%5BReport%5D%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Trends/2020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report%20-%20Benchmarks%20and%20Trends.pdf?utm_campaign=Q4%2F19%3A%202020%20Event%20Marketing%20Report&utm_source=hs_automation&utm_mediu)
contributor to event success

###### 39[%]


[of consumers have more positive](https://www.eventmarketer.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/2018-eventtrack-report.pdf)
[feelings toward a brand after branded](https://www.eventmarketer.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/2018-eventtrack-report.pdf)
events or experiences.


**Get The Most Out of 2024 Events**

The registration list and leads captured over the
course of an event are a goldmine of potential
customers in your target audience. Here’s how to
get the most mileage out of event marketing:

-  Design an inviting and accessible booth with
multimedia, branded signage, and interactive
displays or demonstrations.

-  Find opportunities for cross-promotion,
partnerships, and collaboration. The event
should feel like a cohesive experience.

-  Consider how you will optimize the customer
**experience for both in-person and online**
attendees.

-  Employ lead capture tech like QR codes, RFID
badges, live virtual polls, or devices for contact
information collection and on-site appointment
scheduling.

-  Offer relevant incentives, contests, branded
resources or giveaways to incentivize contact
**information exchange and participation.**

-  Use event hashtags to build a sense of
community and shared experience. Make sure
to engage with UGC and do outreach where
applicable.

-  Distribute personalized follow-up surveys to
collect post-event feedback, build out user
preferences for your list, and inform future
personalized communications.


###### 90[%]


-----

**E V E N T M A R K E T I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**Event Marketing Trends to Have On Your**
**Radar in 2024**

**•** **AR/VR: Consumer appetite for immersive**
brand experiences will continue to drive
augmented reality opportunities across events,
including virtual tours, product demos, and
games.

**•** **Live Podcast Events: Brands will leverage**
more live podcast events in an effort to
holistically build community, directly connect
with target audiences, and expand advertising
and partnership opportunities.

**•** **Hybrid: While the cost-benefit and**
accessibility of virtual events can’t be denied,
[68% of attendees still prefer in-person or](https://welcome.bizzabo.com/in-person-conferences-state-report-2023)
hybrid events, which allow for more organic
networking. Consequently, we’ll see the return
of more in-person events with virtual elements
to engage participants at all touchpoints.

**•** **[Unique Venues: 35% of event attendees](https://www.cvent.com/en/blog/events/event-trends)**
are interested in alternative event venues
with distinctive aesthetics, like golf courses,
restaurants, bars, and theaters.

**•** **Wellness Spaces: Spending on health and**
[wellness continues to rise at more than 5%](https://www.axios.com/local/denver/2023/03/04/health-wellness-consumer-spending)
[annually, with millennials driving interest](https://www.axios.com/local/denver/2023/03/04/health-wellness-consumer-spending)
more than any other generation. Events
that provide dedicated time and space for
enhanced nutrition, outdoor activities, exercise,
and mindfulness experiences will drive
engagement and participant satisfaction.

**•** **[Sustainability and Accessibility: 72% of](https://sproutsocial.com/insights/data/social-media-connection/)**
[consumers expect brands to be positive](https://sproutsocial.com/insights/data/social-media-connection/)
contributors to society. We’ll see events with
more proactive attention to sustainability and
accessibility in design, from venue choice to
exclusion of single-use plastics to intentional
designation of spaces for neurodivergent and
disabled attendees.


**BRAND STORY: EVENT**
**MARKETING THAT STICKS**

**MATTEL**

[Mattel set the gold standard for event](https://about.mattel.com/)
marketing in 2023 with the release of
_Barbie and organized chaos across a_
multitude of coordinated marketing
efforts. They leveraged the alreadyestablished emotional relationship
Barbie shares with audiences by building
unforgettable, immersive experiences.

In one instance, Mattel launched a threestory Malibu Barbie Cafe, treating guests
in three cities to themed fare, dynamic
exhibits, and the iconic Barbie-box photo
[opp. The World of Barbie exhibit engaged](https://www.theworldofbarbie.com/)
all ages in an immersive tour through
Barbie’s careers and life-sized sets,
including a rocket ship and a camper van.

The unifying thread? It’s a collective
experience to dream of shrinking down
to the size of your favorite toy to see the
world from a new perspective. Mattel
can’t offer that, exactly, but expanding the
world of Barbie to larger-than- life size is
the next best thing.


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

## Conversational  Marketing


**Conversational marketing is built on the inbound**
marketing principle that brands should be available
for 1:1 customer interaction in real-time, on the
customer’s terms, at any point in the buyer’s journey.
In short, it’s a dialogue.

This level of accessibility and personalization is
typically achieved through chat-based interfaces
and messaging apps with conditional logic and,
increasingly, generative AI technology.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

of customers would like the option
[to contact a business through](https://www.twilio.com/en-us/press/releases/twilio-study-finds-that-9-out-of-10-consumers-globally-want-to-message-with-brands#:~:text=The%20results%20show%20that%20while,North%20America%2C%20Europe%20and%20Asia.)
[messaging.](https://www.twilio.com/en-us/press/releases/twilio-study-finds-that-9-out-of-10-consumers-globally-want-to-message-with-brands#:~:text=The%20results%20show%20that%20while,North%20America%2C%20Europe%20and%20Asia.)

###### 90%


Conversational marketing bots
[can reduce customer service](https://www.ibm.com/downloads/cas/GQDGPZJE#:~:text=AI%20infused%20virtual%20agents%20can,routine%20tasks%20and%20customer%20questions.)
[costs by 30%.](https://www.ibm.com/downloads/cas/GQDGPZJE#:~:text=AI%20infused%20virtual%20agents%20can,routine%20tasks%20and%20customer%20questions.)

###### 30[%]


of Gen Z customers find the most
memorable brands on social media to
[be those that actively respond to their](https://sproutsocial.com/insights/guides/generational-marketing/)
customers

###### 42[%]


Businesses that adopt
conversational marketing are 80%
[more likely to retain customers](https://zipdo.co/statistics/conversational-marketing/)

###### 80[%]


Conversational marketing can
[increase conversion rates by](https://zipdo.co/statistics/conversational-marketing/)
up to 45%


This technology helps to develop connections with
customers by answering questions,generating
personalized recommendations, and guiding
them to make informed purchasing decisions,
thus enhancing the customer experience and
accelerating the sales cycle.

**Why Conversational Marketing Works**

**CHATBOTS AND MESSAGING APPS**

By implementing a website chatbot or leveraging
SMS, social media, and messaging apps, brands of
all sizes are able to offer 24/7 support to customers
in the form of automated responses, answers to
FAQs, greet customers, gather feedback, or to hand
off the customer to a human representative.

**ON CUSTOMER TIME**

Real-time responsiveness to problems and
inquiries is crucial to keeping a customer engaged
[and satisfied, with 79% of consumers opting for](https://zipdo.co/statistics/conversational-marketing/)
live chat for quick communication. However, it’s
also important that customers can effectively
communicate on their own time and at their
own pace. Chatbots and virtual solutions should
complement your live and direct support channels.

**LEAD QUALIFICATION**

By leveraging a script of qualifying questions, you
can collect information like needs, preferences, and
pain points that help score and segment prospects
automatically, with seamless integration into your
CRM. This allows you to maintain context across
conversations, progressively profile a lead over time,
and personalize responses and follow-ups.


###### 45[%]


-----

**C O N V E R S AT I O N A L M A R K E T I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**How Will Generative AI Change**
**Conversational Marketing?**

Language models based on deep learning are
equipped to understand, process, and respond
to customer inquiries, adapting to the flow of
natural conversation without following a rigid
decision tree.

AI can remember and reference early parts of
the conversation, make recommendations and
support decisions based on context, integrate
rich media and interactive elements, and even
improve capabilities with learning over time.
Additionally, advances in video and voice
technology provide the opportunity for realistic
avatars to facilitate conversations.


**BRAND STORY:**
**CONVERSATIONAL MARKETING**
**WITH STYLE**

**H&M**

[Global clothing retailer H&M created a](https://www2.hm.com/en_us/index.html)
generative AI- powered Digital Stylist on
Kik, a messaging platform popular with
Gen Z.

The chatbot collects user data and
preferences by asking a series of
questions accompanied by images
of clothing, enabling H&M to provide
real-time, hyper-personalized
recommendations, which users can
immediately purchase, save, share, or
reject. The Digital Stylist remembers and
references customer interactions, too,
providing context and relevance with
each subsequent interaction.


**How to Leverage Conversational**
**Marketing in 2024**

**•** **Supercharge customer support with**
chatbots that can troubleshoot problems,
answer questions, help customers move
through the buyer’s journey, and qualify
leads.

**•** **Leverage genAI virtual shopping**
**assistants that offer data-driven,**
personalized experiences and
recommendations to customers.

**•** **Infuse chatbot experiences with**
**personality, allowing customers to interact**
with avatars and personas that reinforce
brand affinity and trust.


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

### Social Media Marketing


[With over 4.3 billion social media users worldwide](https://www.statista.com/statistics/278414/number-of-worldwide-social-network-users/#:~:text=Social%20media%20usage%20is%20one,almost%204.41%20billion%20in%202025.&text=Social%20network%20penetration%20is%20constantly,2020%20stood%20at%2049%20percent.)
and 307.2 million in the U.S. alone, it is no surprise
that social media marketing has emerged as one of
the most lucrative marketing channels in 2024.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

[72% of people use social media](https://themanifest.com/social-media/blog/how-people-use-social-media)

###### 72[%] multiple times a day

###### 72[%]


[72% of companies use their employees](https://media.sproutsocial.com/uploads/Sprout-Social-Index-2019.pdf)

###### 72[%] as social media advocates

###### 72[%]


[53% of U.S. users who follow a brand](https://www.convinceandconvert.com/social-media/percent-of-americans-who-follow-brands-in-social-are-more-loyal-to-those-brands/)

###### 53[%] on social media are loyal to it

###### 53[%]


[70% of marketers name brand](https://media.sproutsocial.com/uploads/Sprout-Social-Index-2019.pdf)
[awareness as their top goal for](https://media.sproutsocial.com/uploads/Sprout-Social-Index-2019.pdf)
###### 70[%] social media and 59% use it for lead
generation and sales

###### 70[%]


Source: Hubspot Marketing
Trends Report, Sept. 2023

**WHICH**
**SOCIAL MEDIA**
**PLATFORMS**
**OFFER**
**MARKETERS**
**THE HIGHEST**
**ROI (TOP 6)?**


[Successful social media marketing strikes a balance](https://www.quillpodcasting.com/blog-posts/connect-using-social-media)
between promotion and relationship-building.
Leverage your social media platforms to share
valuable content from your blog, news about your
company, industry trends, and any other information
that is relevant and useful to your audience.

**Benefits of Social**
**Media Marketing**

**• Add a Human Element: Social media provides**
an avenue to interact with current or prospective
customers. These platforms can humanize your
brand by showing behind-the-scenes content,
faces within the company, and your brand’s
personality.

**• Lead Generation: The evolution of social**
media features, such as appointment booking,
call-to-action buttons, and e-commerce
integrations, has transformed these platforms
into lead generation powerhouses. The results
[are tangible with 68% of marketers reporting](https://explodingtopics.com/blog/lead-generation-stats)
that social media marketing has helped them
generate more leads.

**• Increase Brand Awareness: Social media**
is a cost-effective channel to communicate
your competitive edge and display your visual
brand. This is especially important considering
[consumers are 81% more likely to recall a](https://explodingtopics.com/blog/branding-stats)
brand’s color than remember its name.

**• Build Relationships With Your Target**
**Audience: Social media opens easy and direct**
lines of communication with your followers,
making it a powerful relationship-building tool.
[71% of customers who had a positive interaction](https://www.go-globe.com/social-media-customer-service-statistics-and-trends/#:~:text=71%25%20of%20consumers%20who%20experience,do%20not%20get%20a%20response.&text=Customers%20who%20experience%20positive%20social,likely%20to%20recommend%20that%20brand.)
with brands on social media were more likely to
recommend the business to others.


-----

**S O C I A L M E D I A M A R K E T I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**How to Be Successful**
**on Social Media in 2024**



**• Have Clear Goals: Whether you aspire to**
become a thought leader in your industry
or showcase a human side with employee
advocacy, defining your objectives streamlines
your efforts.

**• Engage With Your Followers: Actively respond**
to user comments, both positive and negative,
and actively seek feedback. By fostering a twoway conversation, you not only enhance your
brand’s accessibility but also build a community.

**B R A N D S T O R Y : S O C I A L**
**M E D I A M A R K E T I N G T H AT**
**S TA N D S O U T**

**Wendy’s**

While Wendy’s might be just another fast-food
[chain, its social media strategy has drastically](https://www.boredpanda.com/funny-wendy-tweets-jokes/)
changed their public perception.

At the core of Wendy’s social media triumph lies its
commitment to authenticity, a dash of humor, and
[engaging with customers. Wendy’s X account, with](https://twitter.com/Wendys)
a staggering 3.8 million followers, outshines the
market leader McDonald’s, which trails with just 175
thousand followers.

The witty and often cheeky responses to user
comments have become legendary, proving that
it’s not just about marketing products; it’s about
building genuine connections with the audience.



**• Embrace User-Generated Content (UGC):**
Audiences are drawn to content they can
trust. UGC is a cost-effective strategy that not
only diversifies content but showcases real
experiences and perspectives of your audience.

**• Offer Value and Be Genuine: Audiences want**
to be engaged and entertained by your content
– not passively consume a sales pitch. This
[is reflected in the numbers with 43% of users](https://media.sproutsocial.com/uploads/Sprout-Social-Index-2019.pdf)
unfollowing brands on social media because of
too many promotional posts.

_“We’ve seen unprecedented engagement and_
_reach from organic TikToks and Reels. The_
_opportunities available from short-form video_
_that educates, surprises, and entertains cannot_
_be overstated right now.”_

**—Shannon Sankey, Digital Marketing**
**Strategist at Carney**


-----

**S O C I A L M E D I A M A R K E T I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**Ways to Level Up Your Social Media**
**Marketing in 2024**


**Leverage AI**
AI has already redefined the way social media
marketers create and manage content – and this is
[only projected to grow in 2024. Over 40% of social](https://hootsuite.widen.net/s/mgqjjznhsx/hootsuitesocialtrends2024_report_en)
media marketers use AI to generate captivating
captions, with tools like Copy.ai and Chat GPT
[leading the way. It’s also reported that 75% of social](https://hootsuite.widen.net/s/mgqjjznhsx/hootsuitesocialtrends2024_report_en)
media marketers plan to use AI to revise and rewrite
[text in 2024. That’s a 103% increase from 2023.](https://hootsuite.widen.net/s/mgqjjznhsx/hootsuitesocialtrends2024_report_en)

**Encourage Employee Advocacy**
Studies reveal that employee voices are perceived
[as 3 times more authentic and credible than even](https://nealschaffer.com/employee-advocacy-statistics/#:~:text=8.-,Nearly%2031%25%20of%20high%2Dgrowth%20firms%20have%20a%20formal%20employee,impact%20on%20their%20career%20(Source))
the CEO’s voice, making them invaluable assets in
building brand trust and loyalty.

In addition to trust-building, employee advocacy
amplifies the reach and resonance of your content.
Brand messages shared through employee
[advocacy are re-shared a remarkable 24 times](https://nealschaffer.com/employee-advocacy-statistics/#:~:text=8.-,Nearly%2031%25%20of%20high%2Dgrowth%20firms%20have%20a%20formal%20employee,impact%20on%20their%20career%20(Source))
more frequently compared to traditional brand
distribution and leads developed through employee
[advocacy have a conversion rate 7 times higher than](https://nealschaffer.com/employee-advocacy-statistics/#:~:text=8.-,Nearly%2031%25%20of%20high%2Dgrowth%20firms%20have%20a%20formal%20employee,impact%20on%20their%20career%20(Source))
leads generated through other means.


**Post Bite-Sized Content**
[Gen Z, with an attention span as short as 1.3](https://time.com/6302294/why-you-cant-focus-anymore-and-what-to-do-about-it/)
[seconds on social media, underscores the need](https://time.com/6302294/why-you-cant-focus-anymore-and-what-to-do-about-it/)
for marketers to adapt to this changing dynamic.
Platforms like TikTok and Instagram have provided
valuable insights into user preferences, revealing
[that videos lasting 11 to 17 seconds are the most](https://blog.hootsuite.com/instagram-reel-length/#Whats_the_best_Instagram_Reel_length_for_reach_and_engagement)
successful. This shift in preference has positioned
short-form video as the frontrunner for marketers,
[with 33% planning significant investments in this](https://www.statista.com/chart/29879/social-media-content-formats/)
format in 2023.

**Partner With Influencers**
The landscape of influencer marketing is
undergoing a transformative shift this year, with
[TikTok (56%) superseding Instagram (51%) as the](https://adage.com/article/digital-marketing/top-5-game-changing-influencer-campaigns/2516221)
go-to platform for marketers and influencers
alike. Moreover, a significant paradigm shift is
underway, with social media experts now focusing
[on influencers with fewer than 100,000 followers.](https://www.entrepreneur.com/growing-a-business/how-nano-influencers-are-making-big-money/452366)
The search volume for “nano influencer” has surged
[by nearly 500% in the past five years. Despite their](https://www.entrepreneur.com/growing-a-business/how-nano-influencers-are-making-big-money/452366)
smaller followings, nano-influencers boast the
[highest engagement rates, around 4%, making them](https://later.com/blog/influencer-engagement-rate/)
a cost-effective and impactful choice for brands.


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

#### Programmatic Advertising


**Programmatic advertising has begun to transform**
the landscape of ad buying and placement.

Unlike traditional advertising methods, which rely
on human interaction and negotiation between
publishers and marketers, programmatic ad buying
leverages sophisticated software and AI algorithms
to buy and optimize ads in real-time.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

of marketers plan to increase
or maintain their investment in
[programmatic advertising this year.](https://roirevolution.com/blog/infographic-the-state-of-digital-marketing/)

###### 31[%]


[Connecting DSPs (demand side](https://www.statista.com/statistics/595982/significant-challenges-to-programmatic-video/)
[platforms) with other marketing tools](https://www.statista.com/statistics/595982/significant-challenges-to-programmatic-video/)
is the #1 challenge that ad technology
decision-makers say they face with
programmatic advertising.

#1


US programmatic ad spend is

$ [expected to reach $271 billion in](https://www.statista.com/statistics/411983/programmatic-spending-usa/)

[2025 – an increase of over $100 billion](https://www.statista.com/statistics/411983/programmatic-spending-usa/)
compared to 2021.

$2.7

billion


[US programmatic video ad spend](https://content-na1.emarketer.com/publisher-ad-monetization-2023?_gl=1*1ov2k8u*_ga*MTU4NTM5ODEyOS4xNzA1NTE1OTEy*_ga_XXYLHB9SXG*MTcwNTUxNTkxMi4xLjAuMTcwNTUxNTkxMy41OS4wLjA.*_gcl_au*OTkyOTI3NjIuMTcwNTUxNTkxMg..&_ga=2.174266213.611174885.1705515913-1585398129.1705515912#_gl=1*xssszt*_gcl_au*OTkyOTI3NjIuMTcwNTUxNTkxMg..)
[passed non-video for the first time](https://content-na1.emarketer.com/publisher-ad-monetization-2023?_gl=1*1ov2k8u*_ga*MTU4NTM5ODEyOS4xNzA1NTE1OTEy*_ga_XXYLHB9SXG*MTcwNTUxNTkxMi4xLjAuMTcwNTUxNTkxMy41OS4wLjA.*_gcl_au*OTkyOTI3NjIuMTcwNTUxNTkxMg..&_ga=2.174266213.611174885.1705515913-1585398129.1705515912#_gl=1*xssszt*_gcl_au*OTkyOTI3NjIuMTcwNTUxNTkxMg..)
in 2023.

###### 1[st]


Programmatic advertising will account
[for more than 10% of US OOH (out-of-](https://www.insiderintelligence.com/chart/263953/asset-share-of-us-programmatic-of-home-ooh-spending-h2-2022-h1-2023-of-total)
home) ad spend and more than 30% of
digital OOH ad spend in 2025. Within
this category, the largest share (41%)

###### 10[%]

is going to billboards, followed by
screens and TVs (24%)


The automated precision, speed, and targeting
capabilities of programmatic advertising make
it an indispensable asset for marketers. In fact,
[according to Statista, an impressive 81% of revenue](https://www.statista.com/outlook/dmo/digital-advertising/worldwide)
in the digital advertising market is projected to be
generated through programmatic advertising by
2028.

**Why Brands are Turning to**
**Programmatic Advertising**

-  **Scalable and Flexible Spending: Programmatic**
ads are extremely flexible, making them suitable
for businesses of all sizes. Platforms like Google
Ads allow for the dynamic adjustment of daily
budgets based on campaign needs.

-  **Expansive Reach: With millions of websites**
and extensive ad spaces, the sheer scale
of programmatic advertising sets it apart as
an indispensable tool for modern marketers
seeking impact.

-  **Increased Transparency: Programmatic**
advertising introduces a new era of
transparency, granting marketers total visibility
over their campaigns. Marketers can track and
analyze everything from understanding the
environments where their brand messages are
displayed to delving into the demographics of
engaged audiences.

-  **Precise Targeting: Various targeting factors,**
including contextual, behavioral, location, and
device-based, allow marketers to tailor their ads
with a new level of precision. This ensures that
messages are delivered to the right audience at
the right times.

-  **Real-Time Data: The application and analysis of**
data in real-time sets programmatic advertising
apart. Marketers can make on-the-fly decisions,
dynamically adjusting campaigns and evaluating
performance as they unfold.


-----

**P R O G R A M M AT I C A D V E R T I S I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**How to Optimize Your**
**Programmatic Advertising Strategy**

**Define Clear Objectives**
Setting campaign objectives is the foundation of
a successful programmatic strategy. Whether the
goal is to drive website traffic, increase conversions,
or enhance brand awareness, a clear purpose
informs every aspect of your campaign.

**Embrace a Multi-Channel Approach**
Embrace a multi-channel strategy in programmatic
advertising to reach users on platforms like display,
video, native, CTV, audio, and more. This approach
ensures a brand’s message is consistent across
channels.

**Target Precise and Relevant Audiences**
Programmatic advertising provides a range of
targeting options, including:



-  Deals offer highly specific and forecast-driven
packages for precise targeting.

-  Page Context AI (PCAI) leverages AI to place
ads contextually based on specified keywords,
ensuring relevance.

-  Lookalike audiences enable marketers to
target users with behaviors similar to existing
customers, enhancing campaign effectiveness.

Choosing the right targeting options aligns your
campaign with the most relevant audience
segments.

**Data-Driven Optimization**
Data-driven optimization ensures that campaigns
are agile, responsive, and aligned with objectives.
Marketers consider key performance indicators
(KPIs) and adjust bids or exclude certain devices or
audiences if necessary. Conduct placement analysis
to identify high-performing sites and prioritize them.


**BRAND STORY: EXAMPLE OF**
**PROGRAMMATIC ADVERTISING**

**The Economist**

In a strategic move to entice readers
into the world of its diverse topics,
[ranging from finance to technology, The](https://www.webfx.com/digital-advertising/learn/programmatic-advertising-examples/)
[Economist embarked on a programmatic](https://www.webfx.com/digital-advertising/learn/programmatic-advertising-examples/)
advertising campaign tailored to its
distinct audience segments.

The publication analyzed how
subscribers interacted with its content
across web and mobile platforms.
“The Economist” identified specific
audience segments, like finance, politics,
economics, and more to craft lookalike
audiences to target.

The results speak volumes about the
efficacy of programmatic advertising in
[the hands of a strategic marketer with 6](https://www.webfx.com/digital-advertising/learn/programmatic-advertising-examples/)
[million unique actions, $650,000 in ad](https://www.webfx.com/digital-advertising/learn/programmatic-advertising-examples/)
revenue, 9,500 new subscribers with a
total lifetime value of $15 million, and a
remarkable 64% increase in “awareness”
among U.S. audiences.


-----

**P R O G R A M M AT I C A D V E R T I S I N G** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**How to Leverage Programmatic**
**Advertising in 2024**

-  **Podcasts: With programmatic ads, advertisers**
gain granular control over ad reach and
frequency, preventing listener fatigue. Podcast
marketers and advertisers are seeing the
benefits, as US programmatic podcast ad spend
[is expected to surge 41.3% to reach $166.3](https://roirevolution.com/blog/programmatic-advertising-trends-stats-news/#:~:text=US%20programmatic%20podcast%20ad%20spend,look%20into%20leveraging%20this%20year.)
[million this year. Plus, programmatic podcast ads](https://roirevolution.com/blog/programmatic-advertising-trends-stats-news/#:~:text=US%20programmatic%20podcast%20ad%20spend,look%20into%20leveraging%20this%20year.)
leverage data and machine learning to find the
exact audience in real time.

-  **[Digital Video: In 2023, more than two in every](https://www.insiderintelligence.com/content/ctv-programmatic-hero-brands-have-been-waiting-sponsored-content)**
[five new programmatic ad dollars were allocated](https://www.insiderintelligence.com/content/ctv-programmatic-hero-brands-have-been-waiting-sponsored-content)
to Connected TV (CTV), setting the stage for
2024. Traditional TV viewership is experiencing
a significant decline, while ad-supported videoon-demand (AVOD) content is capturing the
attention of a growing audience.

-  **In-App Ads: In-app advertising is gaining**
considerable traction, especially in the realm of
[mobile gaming, where it supports nearly 95%](https://setupad.com/blog/programmatic-trends/)
of free-to-play games, transforming the way
[advertisers connect with users. Nearly 80% of](https://setupad.com/blog/programmatic-trends/)
players prefer this reward-based ad delivery
system. This preference stems from users
understanding the implicit exchange – watching
an ad for a tangible benefit – creating a positive
context for advertisers.


-----

**C H A N N E L S T O E X P L O R E I N 2 0 2 4**

## Interactive Content


Consumers, particularly those in Gen Z, expect to
be fully immersed in a digital dialogue with a brand,
and a static content strategy just won’t capture
attention spans anymore.

**B Y T H E N U M B E R S**

[of consumers prefer interactive](https://gitnux.org/interactive-content-statistics/)

###### 41[%] content when learning about a brand

###### 41[%]


[Interactive content generates 5x more](https://gitnux.org/interactive-content-statistics/)

###### 5x pageviews than static content

###### 5x


[Interactive content sees 2x more](https://gitnux.org/interactive-content-statistics/)

###### 2x conversions than static content

###### 2x


[Interactive content generates 52.6%](https://www.mediafly.com/blog/state-of-interactive-content-in-2022/)

###### 53[%] more engagement than static content

###### 53[%]


[89% of marketers report that interactive](https://gitnux.org/interactive-content-statistics/)
content is successful at re-engaging
users


Enter: Interactive content, or personalized, branded
digital experiences that allow the contemporary
consumer to express, contextualize, entertain, and
educate themselves in dynamic ways.

_“We include a poll in each issue of The Daily_
_Carnage in part to collect meaningful data to_
_guide our content strategy. But the magic of ‘Q for_
_You’ is that it represents the moment that a static_
_newsletter becomes a social experience. You’re_
_not just part of a vast, faceless audience. You’re_
_part of a community, and your tastes and tactics_
_inform and challenge the whole.”_

**—Shannon Sankey, Digital Marketing Strategist**
**at Carney**


###### 21[%]


-----

**I N T E R A C T I V E C O N T E N T** **[ ( C O N T I N U E D )]**

**Interactive Content**
**to Test in 2024**

-  **Quizzes, calculators, trivia, surveys, and polls:**
Prompt users to answer questions, provide
opinions, cast votes, or calculate outcomes.

-  **Infographics, ebooks, and whitepapers:**
Encourage users to interact with data points and
charts, hover over elements, or click through
different sections to enhance education.

-  **Videos: Employ clickable elements, hotspots,**
and branching narratives.

-  **Webinars and live streams: Poll attendees in**
live sessions and test other interactive features,
like Q&A.

-  **Augmented reality and virtual tours: Build**
immersive experiences, like virtual try-ons,
product interactions, or location-based
campaigns.

-  **Games and contests: Encourage participation**
and competition in contests, giveaways,
challenges, and branded games.

-  **Emails and ads: Embed surveys, quizzes, and**
polls within emails and ads.

-  **Landing pages: Include animations and**
personalization within the landing page design.

-  **UGC campaigns: Prompt users to create content**
around a branded theme to build community.

-  **Chatbots: Implement chatbots for real-time**
interaction throughout the customer journey.


**BRAND STORY: EXAMPLE OF**
**INTERACTIVE CONTENT**

**MAC Cosmetics**

MAC Cosmetics was the first brand
to partner with Google’s in-house
branded content platform to launch an
augmented reality advertising campaign
on YouTube. Using Google’s AR Beauty
Try-On technology, viewers of all skin
types virtually tested lipstick shades
while watching videos by the
YouTube beauty influencers that
recommended them.

This immersive, personalized viewing
experience culminated in a link to
purchase a desired shade. Across several
similar campaigns, Google reported
that 30% of viewers activated the AR
experience in the YouTube iOS app and
spent 80 minutes on average testing
virtual lipstick shades, representing
an opportunity for brands to reach
customers in the consideration stage in a
meaningful, engaging way.


-----

# Conclusion: Selecting the Right Channels for Your Brand

Hubspot reports that the number one challenge marketing professionals face

[is determining which platforms they should invest in. So we put together the](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/social-media-challenges?hubs_content=blog.hubspot.com%2Fmarketing%2Fmarketing-channels&hubs_content-cta=number%20one%20challenge)

top-performing channels and platforms depending on your goals, so you can

feel confident in which to nurture and which to put on the back burner in 2024.


-----

**C O N C L U S I O N :**

## Brand Awareness

[89% of marketers identify brand awareness as their](https://gitnux.org/brand-awareness-statistics/)
primary goal. Here are the channels marketers find
best suited to generate a buzz about your brand:


**Social Media**

-  [36% of U.S. social media users use Instagram to](https://www.statista.com/topics/2057/brands-on-social-media/#topicOverview)
follow brands and companies.

-  [90% of Instagram users follow at least one](https://www.socialpilot.co/instagram-marketing/instagram-stats#:~:text=90%25%20of%20Instagram%20users%20follow,researching%20new%20products%20and%20services.)
business account.

-  [62% of users say they are more interested in a](https://www.socialpilot.co/instagram-marketing/instagram-stats#:~:text=90%25%20of%20Instagram%20users%20follow,researching%20new%20products%20and%20services.)
brand after seeing it in an Instagram Story.

-  [81% of Instagram users use the platform for](https://www.socialpilot.co/instagram-marketing/instagram-stats#:~:text=90%25%20of%20Instagram%20users%20follow,researching%20new%20products%20and%20services.)
researching new products and services.


**Programmatic Advertising**

-  [60% of advertisers feel that programmatic](https://gitnux.org/programmatic-advertising-statistics/#:~:text=In%202020%2C%20programmatic%20DOOH%20(Digital,their%20budgets%20to%20programmatic%20advertising.)
advertising is effective for increasing brand
awareness.

[• On average, marketers allocate more than](https://www.statista.com/statistics/679119/programmatic-buying-agencies-usa/)
[50% of their media budget to programmatic](https://www.statista.com/statistics/679119/programmatic-buying-agencies-usa/)
advertising.

-  To maximize your programmatic efforts for
brand awareness, use a variety of media buying
options. Programmatic ad spend continues
[to increase in diversity, with mobile ad units](https://www.insiderintelligence.com/content/programmatic-ad-spend-has-gotten-more-diverse-mobile-dominated)
[capturing 70.6%.](https://www.insiderintelligence.com/content/programmatic-ad-spend-has-gotten-more-diverse-mobile-dominated)


-----

**C O N C L U S I O N :**

## Lead Generation


[With 53% of marketers spending at least half of their](https://www.webfx.com/lead-generation/statistics/)
budget on lead generation and content marketing
[converting 3x the amount of leads than traditional](https://www.webfx.com/content-marketing/statistics/)

**Social Media**

-  [66% of marketers generate leads from social](https://startupbonsai.com/lead-generation-statistics/)
media by spending only six hours per week on
social media marketing

-  [LinkedIn is the most effective B2B social media](https://startupbonsai.com/lead-generation-statistics/)
channel for generating leads.

-  Social media helps to humanize your brand and
allows you to connect with prospects directly
and organically.

-  To maximize your lead gen efforts, stay on top of
your messages and comments. When marketers
follow up within five minutes of a desired action,
[they’re 9x more likely to convert leads.](https://www.webfx.com/lead-generation/statistics/)

**Branded Podcasts**

-  Podcasting holds an unparalleled conversion
[rate of 34% compared to the conversion rates of](https://podnews.net/article/podcast-marketing-a-must)
digital display (1.1%), print (2.4%), and TV (3.1%),
highlighting the unique and transactional nature
of the medium.

[• Traffic from podcast interviews converts 25x](https://podcasthawk.com/from-listeners-to-clients-growing-your-business-through-podcast-interviews/#:~:text=Average%20Conversion%20Rates,-When%20it%20comes&text=what%20to%20expect%3A-,The%20average%20podcast%20conversion%20for%20site%20visitors%20decreased%20in%20Q1,converts%2025x%20better%20than%20blogs.)
better than blogs

-  Podcasts can engage listeners who lead busy
[lives for an extended period with 71% of people](https://jaraudio.com/why-we-listen-to-podcasts-the-latest-data/#:~:text=We%20really%20love%20to%20multitask,this%20feature%20appeals%20to%20her.)
saying that their primary motivator for listening
to podcasts is that they allow listeners to
multitask


marketing, we wanted to compile some of the top
converting marketing channels so you can meet
your 2024 sales goals.

**Email Marketing**

-  [89% of marketers use email with the primary](https://www.luisazhou.com/blog/email-marketing-roi-statistics/#:~:text=89%25%20of%20marketers%20use%20email%20as%20the%20primary%20channel%20to%20generate%20leads&text=Almost%209%20out%20of%20every,is%20dedicated%20to%20customer%20retention.)
[purpose of generating leads and 60% of](https://www.luisazhou.com/blog/email-marketing-roi-statistics/#:~:text=89%25%20of%20marketers%20use%20email%20as%20the%20primary%20channel%20to%20generate%20leads&text=Almost%209%20out%20of%20every,is%20dedicated%20to%20customer%20retention.)
customers made a purchase based on an email
they’ve received

-  [54.9% of “Email My Cart” triggered email](https://www.luisazhou.com/blog/email-marketing-roi-statistics/#:~:text=89%25%20of%20marketers%20use%20email%20as%20the%20primary%20channel%20to%20generate%20leads&text=Almost%209%20out%20of%20every,is%20dedicated%20to%20customer%20retention.)
campaigns converted customers

-  Marketers who segment email lists increase
[email marketing revenue by 760%](https://www.luisazhou.com/blog/email-marketing-roi-statistics/#:~:text=89%25%20of%20marketers%20use%20email%20as%20the%20primary%20channel%20to%20generate%20leads&text=Almost%209%20out%20of%20every,is%20dedicated%20to%20customer%20retention.)

-  Email marketing allows for segmentation and
targeting based on behavior, demographics, and
past purchase history, enabling marketers to
send highly relevant content to specific groups,
increasing the chances of conversion.

-  Branded podcasts create strong connections
around shared interests. When your audience
feels a sense of belonging to your podcast’s
community, they are more likely to engage with
your content, share it with others, and, ultimately,
convert.


-----

**C O N C L U S I O N :**

## Thought Leadership


[48% of marketers believe thought leadership](https://www.semrush.com/blog/complete-guide-to-thought-leadership-for-business/)
[content drives sales and leads. However, 63%](https://nytlicensing.com/latest/trends/thought-leadership-stats/)
[of consumers note that they don’t engage with](https://nytlicensing.com/latest/trends/thought-leadership-stats/)

**Community Marketing**

-  [91.4% of organizations leverage thought](https://www.semrush.com/blog/complete-guide-to-thought-leadership-for-business/)
leadership by writing articles.

-  [47% of consumers engage with 3 to 5 pieces of](http://e61c88871f1fbaa6388d-c1e3bb10b0333d7ff7aa972d61f8c669.r29.cf1.rackcdn.com/DGR_DG121_SURV_ContentPref_March_2020_Final.pdf)
content before talking to a salesperson.

-  [36.2% of organizations build thought leadership](https://www.semrush.com/blog/complete-guide-to-thought-leadership-for-business/)
by speaking at webinars or events.

-  [38.9% of marketers used thought leadership to](https://www.semrush.com/blog/complete-guide-to-thought-leadership-for-business/)
generate email subscribers.


thought leadership that is too generic, so regardless
of which channel you choose, ensure your content
is unique and engaging.

**Branded Podcasts**

-  [43% of consumers reported getting their thought](https://sapioresearch.com/report/b2b-barometer-content-edition/)
leadership content from business podcasts.

[• For every podcast, there are 750 blogs and](https://www.buzzsprout.com/blog/how-to-start-a-podcast)
[29 YouTube channels, making podcasts an](https://www.buzzsprout.com/blog/how-to-start-a-podcast)
underutilized opportunity.

-  [75% of podcast listeners tune in to learn](https://www.semrush.com/blog/podcast-stats/)
something new.


-----

**C O N C L U S I O N :**

## Connecting with Your Target Audience


It’s no secret that we’re living in an era with millions
of businesses looking to compete for mindshare.
The best way to stand out? Having a strong brand

**Branded Podcasts**

-  [Podcast listeners are nearly as likely to listen](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/free-downloadables/the-podcast-landscape)
[to a branded podcast as they are to a celebrity](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/free-downloadables/the-podcast-landscape)
[show, making podcasts an excellent medium for](https://www.cohostpodcasting.com/free-downloadables/the-podcast-landscape)
engaging audiences, as a brand’s involvement
will not dissuade listeners.

-  Podcasts are more trustworthy than traditional
media with The Pew Research Center reporting
[that 31% of people who get news from podcasts](https://www.pewresearch.org/journalism/2023/04/18/podcasts-as-a-source-of-news-and-information/#:~:text=Similarly%2C%20most%20people%20who%20get,about%20the%20same%20(55%25).)
say they trust that news more than other
sources.

-  These figures prove that podcasts are an
intimate medium. This isn’t entirely surprising as
podcasts manage to captivate devoted listeners
[for up to 42 minutes on average – that’s a lot of](https://riverside.fm/blog/how-long-should-a-podcast-be#:~:text=what%20these%20are.-,What%20is%20the%20average%20length%20of%20a%20podcast%3F,minutes%20to%2042%20minutes%20long.)
time to build connections.

-  Unlike traditional advertising, where messages
can feel forced, podcasts allow brands to
engage with their listeners on a deeper level.

**Short-form Video**

[• Video content generates 1200% more shares](https://bloggingwizard.com/video-marketing-statistics/)
than text content.

-  [69% of people prefer watching short videos to](https://bloggingwizard.com/video-marketing-statistics/)
learn about a product/service and the average
engagement rate of short-form videos is around
[50% compared to only 17% for long-form videos](https://bloggingwizard.com/video-marketing-statistics/)

-  YouTube and Facebook are the most popular
social media platforms for video sharing with
Snapchat being the least


that resonates with your audience. Here are some of
the best channels to achieve this:

**Influencer Marketing**

-  [61% of consumers trust influencers’ endorsements,](https://togetheragency.co.uk/news/influencer-marketing-statistics-key-insights-and-trends-for-2024)
[whilst 38% only rely on branded social media](https://togetheragency.co.uk/news/influencer-marketing-statistics-key-insights-and-trends-for-2024)
content, which they often perceive as biased

-  While influencer marketing isn’t as common
[among older generations, 72% of Millennials](https://togetheragency.co.uk/news/influencer-marketing-statistics-key-insights-and-trends-for-2024)
and Gen Z follow influencers on social
[media and 50% of millennials trust influencer](https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/influencer-marketing-stats)
recommendations.

-  To reap the benefits of influencer marketing,
brands must ensure that sponsored content
compliments the influencer’s organic content
and that their product or service will provide
value to their audience.

-  By aligning brand messaging with an influencer’s
trusted voice, companies create more
meaningful interactions and foster a stronger
connection with their shared audience.

-  Short-form video is great at capturing audience’s
short attention spans, ideal for on-the-go
audiences, and are easily shareable due to
their seamless integration across social media
platforms and websites.

-  Videos provide a glance into the behind-thescenes aspects of your brand – from your
employees to your processes – humanizing
your brand and forging connections with loyal
customers


-----

# About Quill and Carney


Quill is an award-winning podcast production
agency that specializes in branded content and
provides strategic marketing services to industryleading brands.

We have produced high-quality audio content
for brands like Expedia Group, PwC, Interac, and
Walmart to elevate their content marketing strategy
and maximize podcast ROI.

[If you want to learn more about Quill and how a](https://www.quillpodcasting.com/?utm_source=report&utm_medium=pdf&utm_campaign=2024-marketing-trends)
[podcast could benefit your brand, reach out to](https://www.quillpodcasting.com/contact-us?utm_source=report&utm_medium=pdf&utm_campaign=2024-marketing-trends)
[our team.](https://www.quillpodcasting.com/contact-us?utm_source=report&utm_medium=pdf&utm_campaign=2024-marketing-trends)

**The Branded Podcaster**
Want to stay updated on the podcast
landscape? Sign up for our bi-weekly newsletter,
_[The Branded Podcaster.](https://www.quillpodcasting.com/quill-newsletter-sign-up?utm_source=report&utm_medium=pdf&utm_campaign=2024-marketing-trends)_


Carney is a full-service, dynamic digital agency that
helps brands transform and scale through datadriven marketing, design, and technology.

[Find out how we’ve helped brands like Duolingo,](http://carney.co)
Astrobotic, and Philips Healthcare break through
the noise.

**The Daily Carnage**
[Subscribe to The Daily Carnage—a daily marketing](https://carney.co/daily-carnage/)
newsletter from the minds at Carney—for the
freshest tactics, tools, news, and industry culture
delivered to your inbox.

**Facebook Community**
[Join The Daily Carnage Facebook Group to](http://facebook.com/groups/thedailycarnage)
contribute to a community of the sharpest minds
in marketing.


-----

